Desert Mountain Wolves Lacrosse Club, Desert Mountain Mens Lacrosse, lacrosse, desert mountain athletics, boys lacrosse, dmlax, dm lacrosse, arizona lacrosse team, wolves lacrosse, desert mountain wolves lacrosse

My my My my





Dr. Jerry Wolfley Award


Dr. Wolfley was an integral part of the formation and early perpetuation of the Desert Mountain Lacrosse Club.  

Dr. Wolfley was born in Kansas far from the nearest lacrosse field.  He moved to Scottsdale in 1976 after graduating from Kansas University Medical School.  His residency was completed at Scottadale Healthcare.  Afterward, he became a very well respected and well-known family practitioner in the Scottsdale area.

Dr. Wolfley was a tremendous fan and spectator of many sports including the Kansas Jayhawks and the Arizona Cardinals.  Sports lore has it that he was the expert coach that all avid fans become.  As he and his wife Kathy were raising their two boys here in Scottsdale (Adam and Aaron), the boys were introduced to lacrosse.  They found a sport where Dad had no expertise.  But as the boys' interest in the sport grew, so did the support from their Dad.

We are pleased to remember him annually with this award.  We remember him for his encouragement.  That encouragement was to participate and to play hard.  He recognized the opportunity that lacrosse afforded many players who were looking for an outlet for their energy.  He was supportive of the coaches and particularly the mission of  the Desert Mountain Lacrosse Club to play the game with good sportmanship.

Since 2003, in his honor, we have been pleased to present this award to the Desert Mountain player who in his first year with our club exhibited a passion for the sport, has quietly worked toward improving himself, and is a true team player that participates hard all of the time.

The following players have been the recipients of our most prestigious award: 


2020 Camden Braidech A
2019 Owen Johnson M
2018 Sam Friedland A
2018 Ben Zucker M/FO
2017 Aidan Stockman G
2016 Dawson Bienz A
2015 Adam Mitzel FO
2014 Ben Collen D
2013 Kirk Villalon LSM
2012 Zac Janikas M
2011 Ricky John D
2010 Marxhall Crocker D
2009 Nick Poplin LSM
2008 Jensen Cruse LSM
2007 Zac Mendoza D
2006 Seth Looschen G
2005 John Chuprun D
2004 Wil Singer M
2003 Mike Madjidi G